Day: October 9, 2016

  • Through the darkening wood

    Through the darkening wood Riding home one winter’s night Don’t know we see you ‘Through the Darkening Wood’ was painted in about 1930 and is attributed to George Washington Mark, was born in Charlestown, New Hampshire, in 1795; by trade he was a house painter and later also did sign and furniture painting, wood and stone…

  • Quintain

    Quintain

    This is shared from Lois Elsden’s blog: I was thinking about poetry today, and teaching poetry, and I remembered something which was very popular and successful with the young people where I worked. These students were fifteen and sixteen and in their last year of statutory education, but had found it difficult for a whole…

  • Alice

    Alice

    I was surprised when my promotion came through as I had been Princess of Shovels for so long that I had got comfortable in the role, used to shopping in Sainsburys etc.. That is not to say I wasn’t grateful, my elevation to the aristocracy years before had been more of a jump. It suited…