• When did you first start writing, and who inspired you?

I can remember enjoying English and especially writing ‘essays’ at school so I think that started it off. I then joined the Royal Navy – I was the editor of the ship’s ‘newspaper’ for 2.5 years. There was a then a lull of many years until I decided to take a geology degree with the OU. Half through there was a gap so I filled this hiatus by taking a short course, ‘Learn to write fiction.’ I was instantly hooked. I went on to take ‘Creative Writing’, then ‘Advanced Creative Writing. Loved every minute. What could be better than “making up lies and writing them down?” Yes, you’re right – getting paid for it. I haven’t got there yet.

  • What is a typical writing day for you?

I usually wake up with some sort of idea in my head for a story. I lay there for about half an hour turning it over in my head and then get up and start writing it on the computer. After an hour or so, it is time for breakfast, household chores and then back to the computer to edit what I had written in such a hurry before it all faded. I would then hope to have time to do some more relaxed writing, perhaps a blog post or jot down things that have occurred to me in my on-line journal. Tit bits for later use. ‘Nothing written is ever wasted!’ There may then be time for some writing during the evening. This will probably be geological writing.

  • You are involved in a blog… does this not take you away from your ‘real’ writing?

I started my first blog purely as an on-line store for my writing – mostly short stories and poetry in 2011. Three of us started setting up a joint blog in June 2016 to promote not just our own work but to encourage other people to write and then post their work on the blog. This has been successful as we now have  ‘associate authors’ working with us. It does take some time but we haven’t allowed it to take us away from our writing. That is still our main priority.

  • What are you working on at the moment?

1 – Postings for the blog as they occur to me, usually short stories or poetry

2 – Posting other authors work on the blog

3 – Episodes of a serial for the blog

4 – Two novels – that tend to go on the back burner

5 – Two short stories a month for the two U3A writing groups I belong to.

6 – Two geology books about the local area

7 – A chapter for a Bristol Geology book being produced by BRERC

8 – Handouts for local geology walks with Bristol U3A Geology group.

9 – A paper for the Bristol Naturalists about Tufa

10 – Personalised story books for my four Grandchildren

11 – My autobiography

12 –  Anything else I feel like writing that occurs to me.

  • You offtimes have a woman as a lead character, do you find this difficult

I don’t think there is a great deal of difference in introducing male or female characters – they usually end up doing what they want in spite of me. I have written a longer story and then converted it into a stage play with a strong female character.

  • When will you publish your two novels?

Probably never. I have used some of their chapter as short stories. I don’t think I have the application to write novels, I end up having too many ideas that deflect me from them into short stories.

  • Why do you self-publish with Kindle Direct Publishing?

It costs nothing. It is simple. Everyone tells me that I would be wasting my time sending work to agents or publishers – you have to be a very good writer and very lucky to succeed. I am neither so i just sell the odd copy through Amazon and then get a few copies printed via the Lulu print-on-demand site for my bookshelf.

  • You’re a writer – are you also a reader, and if so what do you like to read and what are you reading at the moment?

Like most writers, I am a voracious reader. I usually have several books on the go at one time. Now it is ‘Rewire your anxious Brian’, ‘The brain’s way of healing, ‘Reality is not what it seems’ and ‘Feral: Searching for enchantment’ for learning and ‘The Straw Men’ for entertainment.

  • What advice would you give to anyone who says they think they have a book in them but don’t know how to write it?

I don’t give advice as I don’t think I am qualified. I’d just say go for it – just write if you need to. It is not enough to just want to.

  • What part of writing do you enjoy most?

Getting a new idea and working out how to turn it into a story. I also enjoy editing to try and improve the piece.

  • What part of writing do you enjoy least?

The drudgery of rewriting a long section when I realise that it just doesn’t deserve its place and taking out puns – I like puns, play on words and alliteration, but not many people do.

© Richard Kefford    2017                                                                             Eorðdraca

My Kindle books are on Amazon – Here

2 thoughts on “Interview: Richard Kefford

Leave a Reply

